#323: Hologram.
May 27, 2013

I am sitting in a fairly crowded living room as I write this. There are about nine people including myself. We seem to be celebrating someone's birthday. I don't think I want to be here. And I noticed you. I noticed something's changed about you.

It could be the age. I know, we have all grown. Some sooner than others. Some in smaller amounts. Some better. Some worse�some like you.

When I saw you for the first time again in five years, I thought for a moment I was looking at two different persons at the same time. Then I realized I was right. I was looking at two of you. You and you.

It made me think about the way I have changed. If people could see two of me, too�one version the moment they said goodbye, the other the moment we set eyes on each other again. Maybe everyone had two of themselves. Twice the memories, reflected in different directions. Twice the same personalities, expressed in two different ways. I wondered if I had the right to choose which end of you I want to talk to�which end would hurt less if it accidentally stabs me again; which end I wouldn't mind bleeding under.

I want to know exactly what both versions of you had gone through�the departure, the journey to both ends, and what made you stop to form the two-headed spear you are now.

I want to know all about you, yet there you are�sharp as sharp can be.

2:30 a.m.

Older / Newer



Home
Archives
Leave a note
Host