#360: Streams of Consciousness
August 20, 2014

If someone were to think a biography of me would one day be valuable, I would tell him to describe me not in words. My biography, I would say, must instead be represented by lines.

He must cut the book with a thick horizontal line. Perpendicular to this line runs an invisible grid�each segment of this grid represents each month, each year, and each event. The line will run for as long as the grid exists.

Then enters his real job: he is to slash this thick line with multiple other thinner ones. Some of them may cut hard but decisively at a right angle; some may slant at an awkward degree, disappearing down where the page ends; some may run parallel, before stopping almost abruptly.

He may choose to insert dialogues, portraits, or anecdotes. Nevertheless, the book will be made up of these lines�crossing, slashing, disappearing, never-ending.

Because how else to represent my life, if not for the people I've met and lost? How else to best remember, if not for these incomplete lines and their trying attempt at this last reenactment�a final replay of all the relationships found and discarded?

11:12 p.m.

Older / Newer



Home
Archives
Leave a note
Host