#331: African velvet.
August 02, 2013

There exist certain moments in life you want to leave forever freshly imprinted in your memory for as long as time permits. The first such moments of mine was the time I shook Paul Meany's hand at the MuteMath concert. The second was the five minutes I sat in the toilet cubicle after I walked out of the theater that screen 'Marina Abramovic: The Artist is Present'.

It was the night of 15th June, 2013. And it was perfect because that night was one of those special nights I didn't have to go home. That night I had nowhere to be.

That night was the best night of my life because it was the night I want most to remember. It started with all the frustrations and discontentment a confused 20-something had all squeezed and compressed into one solid mass, and it ended on a clean slate without so much as a needle poke. I wanted to stay a little longer, linger a little harder�I needed to be somewhere that is nowhere, untitled, without place, a 'non-space'. And that night I am there where I needed to be.

Marina Abramovic's works are so strong because they simply are. You know something has changed; you can feel it. This 'it' is like a massive lump in your chest. But you don't know what its name is and how it was formed. You have no idea that it was, in fact, sitting there silently waiting all the while. You are aware of its presence and yet you can never understand it�there is nothing for you to grasp, nothing on which you can finally start to base an understanding upon. There is nothing left to do except to do nothing.

It was there, but now it's gone. And there's no way you can get it back. It's gone before you even want to try to recognize it.

3:46 p.m.

Older / Newer



Home
Archives
Leave a note
Host