#276: A collection of beautiful instances in Richard Siken's Crush
January 25, 2013

A man takes his sadness down to the river and throws it in the river
but then he's still left
with the river. A man takes his sadness and throws it away
but then he's still left with his hands.

Boot Theory

I woke up in the morning and I didn't want anything, didn't do anything,
couldn't do it anyway,
just lay there listening to the blood rush through me and it never made
any sense, anything

Straw House, Straw Dog

Names like pain cries, names
like tombstones, names forgotten and reinvented,
names forbidden or overused. Your name like
a song I sing to myself, your name like a box
where I keep my love, your name like a nest
in the tree of love, your name like a boat in the
sea of love�O now we're in the sea of love!

Saying Your Names

But we both know how it goes�I say I want you inside me and you hold
my head underwater, I say I want you inside me and you split me open
with a knife,

Wishbone

12:46 p.m.

Older / Newer



Home
Archives
Leave a note
Host