#268: If only you were here with me.
January 09, 2013

This wasn't what I planned my life would be. All the walks alone, the places to explore, the people to meet, they didn't end up where I would expect them to end up. People seemed friendlier in photographs, streets seemed more exciting on maps, my life seemed perfect in my head. This wasn't what I planned my life would be.

But I've been here before. I've sat down at this very spot and stared at the same drawing, framed and leaning against the red walls of my room. (And it still is, now.) I've been here and I've thought to myself, how can a place change so much and yet remain the same? In the little sketched windows of the apartments, are the people inside feeling sad for what their homes has become? Will they ever know that this and everything they see now will never be the same again?

Places and things hold so much more memories than people and sometimes this terrifies me.

We build our own walls to feel protected but these walls have turned against us.

I have built my own walls. And I didn't even realized.

Now at this very spot, I am thinking I need to get out of this place. This place that I have yet to explore, its people I have yet to make friends with. This place with its streets, the food, the water splashing out from the fountains, the cars and their one-way roads, the enormous luscious trees on both sides, the cool May breeze, the screaming masonry walls, the warm inviting sun, the clear blue sky, the clouds... Oh, the clouds. There is no place like home, but the clouds furthest away from where you belong will always be the most beautiful.

And for this I will always be on the road.

But this wasn't what I planned my life would be. This life of escaping - building up walls and escaping. No where is good enough. No one friendly enough. I have been everywhere but I have nowhere to be.


1:37 a.m.

Older / Newer



Home
Archives
Leave a note
Host